關於我們

關於我們

從上面的照片,俯視70名左右的工作人員 Discovery 小學。
2021-2022 學部 Discovery 小學

我們的使命

探索者在學習,協作和創新方面都牢記世界。

我們的信念

我們作為一個團隊共同學習,鼓勵每個人探索,夢想和發現,同時對我們的社區產生積極影響。

我們的社區

確定您的房屋是否被劃為 Discovery 小學,使用 APS 邊界定位器.

我們的名字

Discovery 小學以飛行員、宇航員和參議員約翰格倫的名字命名。 格倫先生住在威廉斯堡公園的街對面,那裡曾經是 Discovery 現在站立。 他和他的孩子們在公園裡玩耍。

“Discovery”是我們在學習過程中要做的事情之一。 一群學生、教育工作者、家庭和社區成員選擇了這個名字,還有我們的吉祥物——探險家——和我們學校的顏色,紅色和白色。

約翰·格倫和 Discovery 探險者

 

關於我們
約翰·格倫(John Glenn)在 航天飛機 Discovery (OV-103)在史密森尼國家航空航天博物館的史蒂芬·F·烏德瓦·哈茲中心舉行,今天的航天飛機在這裡 Discovery 小學。 攝影:Rob Shenk。 (CC)

關於我們

Discovery 小學是一個面向學生,學生和學生的社區。 這是人,而不是建築物:我們的孩子,我們的專業教育者和支持提供者,我們的家庭以及我們的同事和合作夥伴網絡共同努力,確保滿足每個孩子的需求,並確保所有孩子都能發揮潛能並實現目標他們選擇。

我們是美國教育部綠絲帶學校(請參閱: 州新聞稿聯邦新聞稿)和美國國家野生動物聯盟生態學校綠旗學校(請參閱: 國家儀表板).

我們致力於在健康,環保的公立學校環境中,根據年齡進行適當的,基於研究的兒童發展實踐,並致力於基於標準的指導和評估的原則和最佳實踐。

我們成立於2015年,為弗吉尼亞州阿靈頓縣北部的兒童提供服務。

At Discovery 小學階段,兒童受到挑戰並受到鼓勵,要通過研究型教學實踐來發揮其最大潛力。 嚴格的學術課程與社交和情感健康相輔相成。 Discovery 小學部的獨特性隨著工作人員,家庭和社區成員對協作,溝通,創造力和批判性思維的模仿而發展。

鏈接

About Us

About Us

A photo from above, looking down on the 70 or so staff members at Discovery Elementary School.
The 2021-2022 Faculty of Discovery Elementary School

Our Mission

Explorers learn, collaborate, and innovate with the world in mind.

Our Vision

We learn together as a team and encourage everyone to explore, dream, and discover while making a positive impact in our community.

Our Community

To determine if your home is zoned for Discovery Elementary School, use the APS Boundary Locator.

Our Name

Discovery Elementary School is named after pilot, astronaut, and senator John Glenn. Mr. Glenn lived just across the street from Williamsburg Park, which used to be where Discovery stands now. He played with his children in the park.

“Discovery” is one of the things we do during learning. A group of students, educators, families, and community members chose the name, as well as our mascot – the Explorer – and our school colors, red and white.

John Glenn and the Discovery Explorer

 

About Us
John Glenn speaking in front of the space shuttle Discovery (OV-103) at the Stephen F. Udvar-Hazy Center of the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, where the shuttle sits today not far from Discovery Elementary School. Photo by Rob Shenk. (CC)

About Us

Discovery Elementary School is a community for students, of students, and by students. It is the people, not the building: Our children, our professional educators and support providers, our families, and our network of colleagues and partners work together to ensure that every individual child’s needs are met and that all children fulfill their potential and achieve what they choose.

We are a U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon School (see: State Press ReleaseFederal Press Release) and a National Wildlife Federation Eco-Schools USA Green Flag School (see: National Dashboard).

We are deeply committed to age-appropriate, research-based child development practices, and to the principles and best practices of standards-based instruction and assessment in a healthy, environmentally-conscious public school setting.

We were founded in 2015 and serve the children of northern Arlington County, Virginia.

At Discovery Elementary School, children are challenged and encouraged to reach their highest potential through researched-based instructional practices. A rigorous academic curriculum is complimented by a focus on social and emotional wellness. Discovery Elementary School’s uniqueness evolves as committed staff, families, and members of the community model collaboration, communication, creativity and critical thinking.

Links