遊戲與遊戲

自從有記載的歷史以來,遊戲和遊戲就一直是人類文化和兒童發展的組成部分。 的確,玩遊戲可能是發展批判性思維和人際交往能力的重要事件。 數字技術為我們提供了可玩遊戲的不同方式的顯著擴展,隨之而來的是要考慮的一系列新因素。

美國心理學會(APA)的研究人員 確定了四個主要的積極神經認知益處 適用於玩電子遊戲的孩子:認知,動機,情感和社交。 根據在線遊戲和青少年文化認知調查,在玩多人在線遊戲的孩子中,這最後一個尤為重要,這使學生能夠與在線和離線同齡人建立牢固的親社會關係,並傾向於對和對來自其他國家和文化的人的看法。 我們從各種研究中了解到,對於成年人(包括成年人)來說,他們在玩反射性遊戲和麵向動作的遊戲時, 甚至第一人稱射擊遊戲(FPS) –可以在復雜而關鍵的任務(例如手術)中增強學習能力和表現。

(重要的是要注意,研究後發現 暴力視頻遊戲與真實世界的暴力之間沒有因果關係,儘管有研究表明,長時間暴露於暴力或客觀化(例如性別歧視)媒體內容會減少同理心並增加不人道思維的風險。 簡而言之,這是一個 複雜而細微的研究領域 不能簡單地將其簡化為純粹的準則。)

話雖這麼說,在與兒童打交道時,發展和神經認知的適當性是一個至關重要的考慮因素。

在教育中使用遊戲時-通常稱為“基於遊戲的學習”或GBL,與“遊戲化”不同,後者是將基於遊戲的元素引入非基於遊戲的教學法中- Discovery 小學老師與教育技術管理員和領導團隊中的各種教練合作,仔細評估和設計有意義的,正面內容的遊戲的學習機會。

在學校外,考慮與您的孩子一起或一起玩遊戲。 它不僅可以讓您深入了解內容,還可以指出遊戲之外的類比,可能會刺激 discovery,探索和討論。 例如,實時瀏覽器內游戲mope.io(點擊此處了解詳情),在 Discovery 2017年的學生,涉及發展和使用其他屏幕上的“動物”化身。 圖像是基本的和幾何的,沒有描述任何實際的暴力行為。 識別和收集資源以實現特定目標以及不同化身之間的關係的想法可能在許多對話中都是有用的類比,無論是關於節省津貼或自然生命週期,甚至是如何養動物的教導!

與孩子一起玩遊戲的父母與孩子一起理解並能夠減輕這些遊戲對孩子成長的影響的可能性要高300%, 根據牛津大學的研究人員。 通過消除偏見並直接了解孩子玩遊戲的經驗,最好的學習方法是自己玩遊戲……理想情況下是與孩子玩!

如果您的內容令人反感,請考慮重新訪問 家庭媒體計劃,以查看內容是否得到明確處理,並與您的孩子進行有意義的互動互動,以解決這些計劃缺陷(如果您識別出這些缺陷),從而使每個人都知道“道路規則”,並可以保持方向明確。

Games & Gaming

Games and gaming have been an integral part of human culture and child development since before recorded history. Indeed, playing games cam be profoundly important events in developing critical thinking and interpersonal interaction skills. Digital technology has afforded us a significant expansion of the different ways in which we can play games, and with that comes a new set of factors to consider.

Researchers from the American Psychological Association (APA) have identified four major positive neurocognitive benefits for children who play electronic games: cognitive, motivational, emotional, and social. The lattermost of these is particularly strong among children who play multiplayer online games, according to the Online Gaming and Youth Cultural Perceptions survey, allowing students to develop strong prosocial relationships with peers both online and offline, and tending to have slightly more favorable attitudes toward and perceptions of those from other countries and cultures. We know from a variety of studies that for a variety of age levels including adults, playing reflex and action-oriented games – even first-person-shooter (FPS) games – can enhance learning capabilities and performance in complex and critical tasks, such as surgery.

(It is important to note that study after study has found that there is no causal relationship between violent video games and real-world violence, though there are studies that have shown that prolonged exposure to violent or objectifying (for example, sexist) media content can reduce empathy and increase risk of inhumane thinking. In short, it is a complex and nuanced field of study that cannot be oversimplified to a mere maxim.)

That having been said, when dealing with children, developmental and neurocognitive appropriateness is a critical consideration.

When it comes to using games in education – often called “game-based learning” or GBL, which is different from “gamification,” which is the introduction of game-based elements into non-game-based pedagogy – Discovery Elementary School teachers collaborate with the educational technology administrator and the various coaches on our leadership team to carefully review and design learning opportunities around meaningful, positive-content games.

Outside of school, consider playing games with or along side your children. Not only will it give you insight into the content, but it will allow you to point out analogies outside of the game that may spur discovery, exploration, and discussion. For example, the realtime in-browser game mope.io (learn more about it here), which is outrageously popular with Discovery students in 2017, involves evolving and consuming other on-screen “animal” avatars. The iconography is basic and geometric, and no actual violence is portrayed. The idea of identifying and collecting resources to achieve a specific goal, and the relationships between different avatars, may be a useful analogy in any number of conversations, be it teaching about saving allowance or a natural life-cycle or even how to draw animals!

Parents who play the games their children do, with their children, are 300% more likely to understand and be able to mitigate the impacts of those games on their children’s development, according to researchers from Oxford. By helping to eliminate bias and understand first-hand the experience of the games your children play, the best way to learn is to play them yourself… ideally with your children!

In situations in which content is objectionable to you, consider revisiting your Family Media Plan, to see if the content is expressly addressed, and have meaningful, engaged, mutual conversations with your children to address those plan deficits if you identify them, so that everybody knows “the rules of the road” and can remain oriented and clear.