互動與關係

相互作用

科羅拉多大學博爾德分校的研究人員在2013年確定,在觀看教育視頻的過程中,“共同觀看”(與孩子同時觀看數字媒體)在學習方面產生了統計學上顯著更好的結果,而不是孩子獨立觀看視頻。 儘管即時結果相似,但當父母與孩子就視頻內容和活動進行跟進時,長期保留率顯著提高。

這些信息可以與澳大利亞2006年的一項研究配對,該研究發現 存在 在共同觀看中(即坐在孩子旁邊而沒有互動或跟進)不會對學習或保留產生任何統計學上的顯著積極影響,這意味著 相互作用 是共同瀏覽的關鍵變量。 這反映了有效的教師在良好的教學設計中有意使用媒體時所採取的措施:打開視頻並坐下一段時間是被動的,是“放映電影”,而不是教學。 但是,有意義地使用視頻資料,暫停討論和分析以及圍繞有限的視頻內容開展有意義的活動可能會非常有效。

有證據表明,這也可以是有效的建模,因為要有效地做到這一點,父母必須改變自己的行為,從被動地消費媒體轉向周到的媒體互動。 縱向 尼皮恩 研究於1996年至2006年進行的研究發現,家庭的觀看習慣與長期建立的習慣之間存在相關性,並且與媒體消費過程中卡路里攝入量的增加相關。

2015年的一項研究發現,你們中的某些人可能是對的:這很難做到,尤其是對於他們不熟悉的媒體。 相比使用電子遊戲,父母更傾向於使用書籍和電影等傳統媒體進行共同觀看。 要求孩子教我們如何玩耍,花時間與他們一起探索,並真正地嘗試發展與新媒體互動的技能,而不是僅僅意識到這一點,可以幫助他們搬離我們的舒適區。

對成年人來說,另一個重要的考慮因素是我們自己的習慣:2015年的一項研究發現,超過一半的父母給孩子餵奶是多任務的,尤其是看屏幕媒體。 2014年的一項研究發現,有73%的觀察到的父母帶著孩子在特定餐廳用餐時帶著他們的孩子在用餐期間使用了移動設備。 鑑於我們知道(根據另一項2015年的研究),父母的習慣與孩子的習慣密切相關,因此,如果我們期望孩子從中受益並表現出積極的行為,那麼作為成年人,這就要改變我們的行為。

應當指出,2008年的一項大規模研究發現,共同觀看本身就是  可以有效降低12-17歲兒童的在線風險,因此互動式共同觀看是一種策略,但不應該是與兒童一起使用的有關在線媒體的唯一策略。

發展進程

儘管所有孩子都不盡相同,但人類動物的大腦發育通常會經歷一系列階段。 我們在以下方面利用了出色的研究和教學資源 Discovery 小學就是這本書 碼尺:4-14歲的課堂兒童 由Chip Wood撰寫, 響應式教室 模型。 儘管那些與孩子一起工作的人,尤其是專業人士,在道德上有責任將每個孩子當作一個個體對待-因為所有人都是獨一無二的,天生就應該被他人(尤其是看護者)視為真正的個體,但我們也可以為自己配備一般性的服務。幫助您做出決策的“經驗法則”。 父母可以做同樣的事情。

例如,研究告訴我們,一般情況下,年齡較小的兒童的大腦在遇到媒體時會發生什麼情況,這在兒科言語治療師Leslie Humes彙編的清單中反映出來:

  • <6個月:更喜歡看臉,對屏幕了解甚少。
  • 6個月:識別屏幕上熟悉的對象,但不了解它們與屏幕上或現實中的其他對象的關係。 (安德森和漢森,2010年)
  • 3到9個月:嬰兒的視線移到屏幕上的面孔。 (弗蘭克,弗爾和約翰遜,2009年)
  • <12個月:嬰兒的視線受正式特徵(縮放,噪音,光線變化,運動)的控制。 (Gola&Calvert,2011年)
  • 18個月:兒童具有將屏幕上的對象與真實世界的對象相關聯的能力; 熟悉的上下文會有所幫助。
  • 3歲:兒童可以在2D和3D之間轉換,這是他們完全了解所呈現內容的年齡。
  • 3½至5½年:可能仍難以將高級概念從2D轉換為3D(例如問題的解決方案)。 (Richert&Smith,2011年)

有了這些信息, 最低實質性利益 面向36個月以下兒童的數字媒體。 相較於卡通插圖,攝影材料將二維介質中的思想,個體和對像從三維介質中轉移到三維介質的概念上,比卡通表示更加容易和有效,並將這些思想,個體和對象置於熟悉的環境中設置進一步增強了便利性。

關係

關於一個主題的學術獎學金不僅需要軼事觀察; 它需要有意義的科學探究。 但是,在陳述“數字技術影響我們彼此聯繫的方式”的情況下,似乎每個人都同意,在科學表明是的之前,數字通信在幾乎每個年齡段都非常普遍,這是事實。確實會影響我們彼此之間的聯繫方式。 當然,這對兒童和數字通信技術產生了影響,這在2000年代初進行了一系列研究。

我們知道(Pombreni,Kirchler和Palmonari,1990年),發展中的孩子需要親密的非家庭友誼,而青春期的孩子與這些朋友發展“親密,開放,誠實和自我披露”的能力。 (布朗,2004)。 這種自我披露對於發展至關重要,因為它在社會投入與如何處理和調解該投入之間建立了神經聯繫。 (Buhrmeister&Prager,1995)。 特別是在1963年進行的一項研究中,兒童進入即時數字通信的時間很早,特別是由德克斯特·鄧菲(Dexter Dunphy)記錄了兒童進行團體交往的需要,並且通常將兒童分為兩類:集團( 15至30個通常是同質的個體)和人群(XNUMX至XNUMX個集團中的XNUMX至XNUMX個個體的宏觀組,包括一個異類組)。 毫不奇怪,文本和社交媒體的引入允許異步(非同一時間)和非地理(非同一地點)開發和維護這些社會動態。

因此,當 親社會的 (良好),這樣的交流可以積極增強健康的團體動態。 但是,當損壞,傷害,問題或妥協時,問題可能會加劇。 2008年,超過70%的學生報告在過去的一年中遭受網絡欺凌(Juvonen和Gross,2008年),其中大多數人(約65%)知道這種數字暴力的肇事者。 與2006年的一項研究(Li,2006年)相比,這是一個顯著的增長。研究表明,每2個學生中有4個報告了相同的經歷。

但是,根據Common Sense Media的統計,有20%的學生將社交媒體視為他們獲得自信的最重要方式之一; 28%的學生表示社交媒體讓他們更外向,29%的學生表示讓他們害羞,整整52歲%的人認為,它擴大了他們的視野,並使他們成為更好的人。

考慮閱讀 皮尤研究中心的這項研究和信息 有關該主題的更多最新信息。

所以,你可以做什麼?

首先,正如我們在其他領域所討論的那樣,在可行和可行的範圍內,建立有意的聯繫並幫助您的孩子確保隱私和安全性的標准設置得很高,因此,學生在線上僅有的聯繫是自願選擇的。 其次,確保您盡可能地和切實地參與其中,例如成為Facebook上的“朋友”。 (研究表明,孩子們根本不使用Facebook;這對我們這一代人來說更多,但這是一個明顯的例子!)第三,與孩子們進行積極的對話,並幫助他們教會他們如何在線處理情況,這是一致的。與您的家人的價值觀以及我們知道孩子們需要的積極,鼓勵的強化。

最後,定期建立與學生的個人互動模型,  包括數字媒體。 當您以一個單位在一起消磨時光—無論您和您的孩子是二人組,還是與更多的朋友和/或家人在一起—請在適當的時候停用或擱置設備,並確保不要浸入您的設備中定期進行篩查,同時希望觀察的孩子不要這樣做。

通過積極應對所有環境中的積極,親社會行為,您可以幫助增強孩子的個體行為能力,身份以及緩解在線和離線情況的能力。


Connell,SL,Lauricella,AR和Wartella,E.(2015年)。 父母與美國年幼子女共同使用媒體技術。 兒童與媒體雜誌。 9-1。

哈代,LL。,等。 (2006)。 12-13歲青少年的電視收看與家庭和家庭的相關性:《 Nepean研究》。 國際行為營養與體育活動雜誌。 3:24。

Linebarger,DL和Vaala,SE(2010)。 嬰幼兒屏幕媒體和語言發展:生態視角。 發展評論,30(2),176-202。

利文斯通(美國)和赫爾珀(EJ)(2008)。 父母對兒童互聯網使用的調解。 廣播電子媒體雜誌。 pp。581-599。

Skouteris,H.和Kelly,L.(2006)。 重複觀看和共同觀看動畫視頻:檢查影響幼兒對視頻內容理解的因素。 澳大利亞幼兒雜誌。 31-3。 第22-30頁。

Sims,Clare E.和Eliana Colunga。 (2013)。 親子屏幕媒體共同觀看:對幼兒單詞學習和保留的影響。” 齒輪科學.

Interaction & Relationships

Interaction

Researchers at the University of Colorado at Boulder ascertained in 2013 that “co-viewing” (viewing digital media simultaneously with the child) produced statistically significant better outcomes in learning while watching an educational video than the child watching the video independently. While the immediate outcomes were similar, long-term retention was significantly higher when the parents engaged with their child about the video content and followed-up with activities.

This information can be paired with a 2006 study from Australia which found that mere presence in co-viewing – that is, sitting next to the child without interaction or follow-up – produced no statistically-significant positive impact on learning or retention whatsoever, meaning that interaction is the key variable in co-viewing. This mirrors what effective teachers do when using media intentionally in good instructional design: turning on a video and sitting down for the duration is passive, and is “showing a movie,” not teaching. However, meaningful use of video materials, pausing to discuss and analyze, and developing a meaningful activity around limited video content, can be highly effective.

There is evidence that this can also be effective modeling, as to effectively do this, parents must change their behaviors, moving away from passive consumption of media to thoughtful interaction around media. The longitudinal Nepean study, conducted between 1996 and 2006, found a correlation between family viewing habits and the establishment of patterns long-term, as well as a correlation with increased calorie intake during media consumption.

A 2015 study found that what some of you may be thinking is true: This is hard to do, especially with media with which they aren’t as familiar. Parents are far more likely to co-view using traditional media like books and movies, than they are to co-use video games. Moving outside of our comfort zone can be facilitated by asking the child to teach us how to play, and taking the time to explore with them and genuinely trying to develop the skills to engage in the new media, instead of simply being aware of it.

Another significant consideration for us adults is our own set of habits: A 2015 study found that over half of parents bottle-feeding their children were multitasking, especially watching screen media. A 2014 study found that 73% of observed parents eating a meal at a particular restaurant with their toddlers present used their mobile devices during the meal. Given that we know (from yet another 2015 study) that parental habits are strongly associated with child habits, this tasks us, as the adults, with changing our behaviors if we expect benefits for and positive behaviors from our children.

It should be noted that a significant-scale 2008 study found that co-viewing itself was not effective in reducing the risk of online risk encounters for children aged 12-17, and so interactive co-viewing is one strategy, but should not be the only strategy, employed with children regarding online media.

Developmental Progression

While all children are different, the human anima’s brain development does generally follow a sequence of stages. An outstanding research and instructional resource that we utilize at Discovery Elementary School is the book Yardsticks: Children in the Classroom, Ages 4-14 by Chip Wood, part of the Responsive Classroom model. While those who work with children, especially professionally, have an ethical responsibility to approach every child as an individual – as all humans are unique and innately deserving of being conceived by others, especially caretakers, as authentic individuals – we can also equip ourselves with general “rules of thumb” that help inform our decision making. Parents can do the same thing.

For example, research tells us generally what is happening in the brains of children of young ages when experiencing media, as reflected in this list assembled by pediatric speech therapist Leslie Humes:

  • <6 months: Prefer to look at faces, understand little from the screen.
  • 6 months: Recognize familiar objects on screen but don’t understand how they relate to other objects on the screen or in reality. (Anderson & Hanson, 2010)
  • 3-9 months: Babies’ eye-gaze moves to faces on screen. (Frank, Vul, & Johnson, 2009)
  • <12 months: Babies’ eye gaze is directed by formal features (zoom, noise, light variation, movement). (Gola & Calvert, 2011)
  • 18 months: Children have some ability to relate on-screen objects to real world objects; familiar context helps.
  • 3 Years: Children can transfer between 2D and 3D, meaning this is the age when they fully understand the content being presented.
  • 3 ½ to 5 ½ years: May still struggle to transfer advanced concepts from 2D to 3D (such as solutions to problems). (Richert & Smith, 2011)

Given this information, there is minimal substantive benefit to digital media for children under the age of 36 months. Photographic materials transfer ideas, individuals, and objects from the two-dimensional medium to the concept of a three-dimensional medium with greater ease and effectiveness, than do, for example, cartoon representations, and situating these ideas, individuals, and objects in familiar settings further enhances facility.

Relationships

Academic scholarship on a subject requires more than anecdotal observation; it requires meaningful scientific inquiry. However, in the case of the statement “digital technology impacts the way we relate to one another,” seemingly everyone was in consensus that this was true before the science showed that yes, digital communication is highly prevalent at nearly every age level, and it does have an impact on the way we relate to one another. This has, of course, implications for children and digital communications technology, borne out by a series of studies conducted in the early 2000s.

We know (Pombreni, Kirchler, & Palmonari, 1990) that developing children need close non-family friendships, and that adolescent children develop capacity for “intimacy, openness, honesty, and self-disclosure” with those friends. (Brown, 2004). This self-disclosure is critical to development, as it makes neural connections between social input and how to process and mediate that input. (Buhrmeister & Prager, 1995). Long prior to children having access to instantaneous digital telecommunications – specifically in a study conducted in 1963 – the need for children to associate in groups was documented, specifically by Dexter Dunphy, and shown to generally fall into two group categories: cliques (a microgroup of three to nine generally homogeneous individuals) and crowds (a macrogroup of 15 to 30 individuals in two to four cliques, comprising a heterogeneous group). Unsurprisingly, the introduction of texting and social media has allowed the development and maintenance of these social dynamics both asynchronously (not at the same time) and non-geographically (not in the same place).

Consequently, when prosocial (good), such communication can be positively-reinforcing of healthy group dynamics. However, when damaging, hurtful, problematic, or compromising, problems can be amplified. In 2008, over 70% of students reported having been cyberbullied in the past year (Juvonen and Gross, 2008), and the majority of them (roughly 65%) knew the perpetrators of that digital violence. This was a sharp increase from a 2006 study (Li, 2006) showing about 2 in 4 students reporting the same experiences.

However, 20% of students, according to Common Sense Media, cite social media as one of the most important ways they gain confidence, 28% said social media makes them more outgoing, 29% say it makes them less shy, and a full 52% believe it had broadened their horizons and made them better people.

Consider reading this research and information from the Pew Research Center on the subject for more, current details.

So what can you do?

Firstly, as we discuss in other areas, wherever possible and practical, create intentional connections and help your child ensure the bar for privacy and security is set very high, so the only connections your students have online are those that are intentionally chosen by will. Secondly, ensure that you are involved wherever possible and practical, such as being “friends” on Facebook. (Research shows us children don’t use Facebook much at all; it’s much more for our generations, but it’s a salient example!) Thirdly, have proactive conversations with your children and help teach them about how to handle situations online, that are consistent with your family’s values and the positive, encouraging reinforcement that we know children need.

Finally, regularly model personal interactions with your students that don’t include digital media. When you’re spending time together as a unit – be it you and your child as a duo, or together with a larger set of friends and/or family – deactivate or set aside devices whenever appropriate, and be sure not to dip into your screen regularly while expecting your observing children not to do the same.

By proactively addressing positive, prosocial behaviors in all milieus, you can help strengthen your child’s individual agency, identity, and ability to mitigate circumstances both online and offline.


Connell, S.L., Lauricella, A.R., and Wartella, E. (2015). Parental Co-Use of Media Technology with their Young Children in the USA. Journal Of Children And Media. 9-1.

Hardy, L.L.., et al. (2006). Family and home correlates of television viewing in 12–13 year old adolescents: The Nepean Study. International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity. 3:24.

Linebarger, D. L., & Vaala, S. E. (2010). Screen media and language development in infants and toddlers: An ecological perspective. Developmental Review, 30(2), 176-202.

Livingstone, S. and Helsper, E.J. (2008). Parental Mediation of Children’s Internet Use. Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media. pp. 581-599.

Skouteris, H. and Kelly, L. (2006). Repeated-viewing and co-viewing of an animated video : an examination of factors that impact on young children’s comprehension of video content. Australian Journal of Early Childhood. 31-3. pp. 22-30.

Sims, Clare E. and Eliana Colunga. (2013). Parent-Child Screen Media Co-Viewing: Influences on Toddlers’ Word Learning and Retention.” CogSci.