行销

如果對兒童的營銷涉及到您,那麼您不僅有受到關注的權利,而且您並不孤單:英國通過了第一部法律,限制了企業向兒童市場營銷的方式。 1874。 也就是說,電視和數字媒體的出現極大地擴大了大眾營銷,廣告以及對兒童生活的私人(公司或其他)利益的影響。

感知營銷

美國心理學會(APA)的研究表明,五歲以下的孩子在某種媒介的內容和嵌入其中的廣告之間並沒有強烈區分(如果能完全區分的話),即使採用了明確的界限(例如“在收到贊助商的這些信息後我們也會回來”)。 而且,八歲左右的兒童基本上不理解商業信息是有說服力的。

在(預期)缺乏認知的情況下,避免營銷影響的唯一選擇是嘗試盡可能地限制營銷,直到兒童大腦發展到兒童可以感知的程度,並因此,流程和中介–營銷信息。

這是在以下位置使用應用程序的原因之一 Discovery 經過廣告審查,當應用更改為包含廣告時,建議將其從廣告中立即刪除 APS-sanctioned App Catalog.批准的應用目錄。 If we cannot rightly ensure that children will not be negatively impacted by something, we must do our best to shield them from it, consistent with the best research available and without infringing upon other positive benefits that may be gained from alternatives or with some modification.如果我們不能正確地確保兒童不會受到某種事物的負面影響,則我們必須盡最大努力使他們免受其影響,這與現有的最佳研究相一致,並且不會侵犯其他選擇或進行某些修改可能會帶來的積極好處。 Parents can engage in the same practices, by setting a high bar for the prevention of exposure to marketing content for children under eight, and having meaningful conversations with children ages eight and up about what marketing is, why it exists, and how to handle situations that involve marketing messages.家長可以採取相同的做法,設置高門檻,以防止八歲以下兒童接觸營銷內容,並與八歲及以上年齡段的孩子進行有意義的對話,以了解營銷的意義,存在的原因以及如何處理情況涉及營銷信息。

營銷效果

坦率地說,向兒童推銷已被證明有效。 孩子們確實會收到預期的消息-“購買”或“您需要”-並經常將消息轉換為請求或要求。 只需接觸一次營銷信息就可以發展產品偏好,研究表明,孩子的偏好,要求和要求確實會影響父母的購買習慣。

APA發現,父母否認孩子提出的要求和要求是父母與孩子發生衝突的共同根源,而孩子的要求和要求則源於市場營銷。 簡而言之,廣告會引發您的孩子更普遍的爭論。

銷售引起的兒童行為上最普遍的變化之一是非營養食品的消費量增加,這意味著我們必須特別注意我們如何影響兒童的飲食,他們如何看待食物和健康的飲食習慣。

在2017年,研究發現在將兒童暴露於涉及菸酒的廣告以及對這兩種行為的較優態度之後,發現巨大的統計意義可能不足為奇。

營銷人員試圖創造一種稱為“ Pester power”的條件,即孩子通過他們的要求和要求對父母的影響。 “ Pester power”有兩種主要類型,特別是“持久性困擾”和“重要性困擾”。

“持續性纏擾”是影響較小的of行為,在這種行為中,孩子會不斷重複其要求或要求,直到父母屈服為止。 “重要舉報”是一種更具影響力的behavior行為,在這種行為中,孩子表達出擁有一件特定的東西很重要,並且掠奪父母可能會感到內或不適當的感覺,因為他們希望為自己的孩子提供“最好的”孩子們。 後者被刻板地比喻為“如果你愛我,你會給我買”的比喻。 無論是前者一貫堅持的Veruca Salt動態還是後者的悲痛欲絕的方法,都已經證明“ Pester power”可以有效地影響父母的行為。 意識到這一點可能會使父母在這些要求或要求出現時更有效地調解消息的來源。

互聯網特定營銷

電視領域的廣告商使用的許多方法都用於基於Internet的媒體,但是普林斯頓大學確定了互聯網領域的四個特定領域,因此,鑑於他們的父母,父母可能需要比他們更了解這些領域。新穎性和影響力的特定領域。

廣告遊戲 是具有微妙或明顯的商業影響力意圖的網絡遊戲。 例如,由汽水公司創建的涉及從一瓶特定品牌的汽水中射擊氣泡的遊戲乍一看可能是普通遊戲的簡單變體,但營銷消息卻遍及整個內容。 在沒有這種營銷方式的其他選擇中,很可能會找到相同的娛樂活動,這使其成為兒童的更好選擇。

病毒式營銷 是由在線媒體傳播的嗡嗡聲,就像老式的“口口相傳”營銷在社交媒體等具有病毒功能的平台問世之前就已經起作用。 調解“每個人都在做”和“每個人都這樣說”的現像對父母來說並不是一個新的挑戰,但是了解這種情況在網上的發生程度很重要。

追踪 這是一種習慣,即使用各種方法(從Cookie到露骨的甚至是非法的間諜軟件)觀察在線用戶的習慣和行為,並針對特定帳戶或計算機的用戶量身定制廣告。 我們中的許多人已經看到了這一點:即使出於好奇,我們也會在網上查找商品或搜索產品,並且幾乎是即時地為我們展示該圖片或圖片,以及該圖片或類似內容的廣告。 同樣,由於八歲以下的兒童缺乏認知能力來理解這種現象的存在或意義,因此我們必須在這種環境中格外小心。

在線互動代理 是“聊天機器人”,即外觀和行為類似人的互動程序,這些人不是真實的。 我們中的許多人去過一家站點或服務提供商,試圖支付賬單或調查產品,卻只看到角落裡彈出一個盒子,說:“你好! 歡迎來到我們的網站! 我能幫您什麼嗎?” 在 幾乎每個實例,這是一個具有預先記錄的響應和基本因果響應方法的自動化過程,而不是真實的人。 這種複雜性可能超出了我們某些孩子的發展水平,因此我們必須再次注意確保孩子不會遭受他們沒有準備好的複雜和可能有害的經歷


Poulton,T.(2008年)。 YTV報導:家庭支出強勁的“開竅”。 加拿大的媒體。

Wilcox,B。等人。 (2004)。 APA廣告與兒童工作隊的報告。 美國心理協會。

Marketing

If marketing to children concerns you, not only are you right to be concerned, but you’re hardly alone: The United Kingdom passed its first law restricting the way businesses can market to children in 1874. That said, the advent of televised and digital media has massively expanded the influence of mass marketing, advertising, and private (corporate or otherwise) interests in the lives of children.

Perceiving Marketing

Research from the American Psychological Association (APA) shows us that children under the age of five do not, by and large, strongly distinguish (if they distinguish at all) between the content of a given piece of media and the advertising embedded within it, even if a clear demarcation – e.g., “we’ll be back after these messages from our sponsors” – is employed. Moreover, children under the age of eight or so do not, by and large, understand that commercial messages are intended to be persuasive.

In a situation in which cognitive perception is (expectedly) absent, the only option to avoid the effects of marketing is to attempt to limit it wherever possible, until such time as the child brain has developed to the point that children can perceive – and consequentially, process and mediate – marketing messages.

This is one of the reasons that apps employed at Discovery are vetted for advertising, and when apps change to include advertising, they are recommended for immediate expungement from the APS-sanctioned App Catalog. If we cannot rightly ensure that children will not be negatively impacted by something, we must do our best to shield them from it, consistent with the best research available and without infringing upon other positive benefits that may be gained from alternatives or with some modification. Parents can engage in the same practices, by setting a high bar for the prevention of exposure to marketing content for children under eight, and having meaningful conversations with children ages eight and up about what marketing is, why it exists, and how to handle situations that involve marketing messages.

Effects of Marketing

To put it bluntly, marketing to children has been shown to work. Children do receive the intended messages – “buy this” or “you need this” – and often translate that message into request or demand. Product preference can develop with as little as a single exposure to a marketing message, and studies show that the preferences, requests, and demands of children do impact the purchasing habits of their parents.

The APA has found that a common source of parent-child conflicts arise from parents denying requests and demands made by children, whose requests and demands originated from marketing. In short, advertising can precipitate more common arguments with your child.

One of the most prevalent behavioral changes in children that stems from marketing is the increased consumption of non-nutritious foods, meaning we must take particular care when it comes to how we influence what children eat, and how they perceive food and healthy eating habits.

It is likely no surprise in 2017 that studies have found a huge statistical significance between exposing children to advertising involving alcohol and tobacco with later favorable attitudes toward these two behaviors.

Marketers attempt to create a condition called “pester power,” the influence that children have on their parents through their requests and demands. There are two primary types of “pester power,” specifically “persistence pestering” and “importance pestering.”

“Persistence pestering” is the less impactful type of nagging behavior, in which children repeat their requests or demands consistently until the parent relents. “Importance pestering” is the more impactful type of nagging behavior, in which children articulate that having a particular thing is important, and preys upon senses of guilt or inadequacy a parent may have, as they desire to provide “what is best” for their children. This latter item is stereotypically analogized to “if you loved me, you would buy me this” tropes. Be it the ever-insistent Veruca Salt dynamic of the former or the sad-puppy-eyes approach of the latter, “pester power” has been shown to be effective in influencing parent behavior. Being aware of this may equip parents to more effectively mediate the source of the messages, when these requests or demands arise.

Internet-Specific Marketing

Many of the methods used by advertisers in the television sphere are used in internet-based media, but Princeton University identified four areas that are specific to the internet sphere, and so parents may need to be more aware of these than they are, given their newness and specific realm of influence.

Advergames are online games that have either subtle or overt commercial influence intent. For example, a game created by a soda company that involves shooting bubbles from a bottle of a particular brand of soda may appear at first blush to be a simple variation of a common game, but the marketing messaging is pervasive throughout the content. The same recreational activity can likely be found in an alternative that does not feature such marketing, making it a better choice for children.

Viral Marketing is buzz spread by online media, much as old-school “word of mouth” marketing worked prior to the advent of viral-capable platforms like social media. Mediating the phenomena of “everyone is doing it” and “everyone says so” is hardly a new challenge for parents, but being aware of the extent to which this can occur online is important.

Tracking is the habit of utilizing various methods – from cookies to explicit and even illegal spyware – to observe the habits and behaviors of people online, and tailoring advertisements to users of a particular account or computer. Many of us have seen this: Even if just out of curiosity, we look something up online or search for a product, and nearly-instantaneously, we are shown image after image, and advertisement after advertisement, for that thing or something like it. Again, because children under the age of eight or so lack the cognitive development to understand this exists or what it means, we must take great care in this milieu.

Online Interactive Agents are “chat bots,” interactive programs that look and behave like people, who aren’t real. Many of us have been to a site or service provider, looking to pay a bill or investigate a product, only to see a box pop up in the corner, saying “Hello! Welcome to our site! Can I help you with anything?” In nearly every instance, this is an automated process with pre-recorded responses and basic cause-effect response methods, and not a real person. This sophistication may be beyond some of our children, developmentally, so we must again take care to ensure children are not exposed to complex and potentially-harmful experiences for which they are not prepared


Poulton, T. (2008). “Kidfulence’” on family spending strong: YTV Report. Media in Canada.

Wilcox, B., et al. (2004). Report of the APA Task Force on Advertising and Children. American Psychological Association.