媒體指導

理解孩子與技術和媒體的關係的最好方法之一是與那個孩子有意義地接觸該技術和媒體。 這種合作關係稱為“媒體指導”。

成人常常以技術來模仿“按我說的做而不按我做”的行為。 我們要求孩子們花更多的時間與同伴進行互動,然後將腦袋埋在我們的設備中,或在有意義的人際互動的理想時間定期檢查這些設備。 一些現代研究人員稱“分散父母養育子女”,這是一種容易陷入的模式,也是一種難以克服的模式。 但是,使用相同的高質量媒體共同花時間可以幫助鼓勵在使用媒體期間進行親社會互動,然後共同花時間而不用 媒體可以幫助建立積極而健康的“有無”平衡。

家長可以通過有能力培養自己成為優秀的媒體導師。 家庭媒體計劃 到位,並了解其構成 優質內容.

優秀的媒體導師不是從“限制”或“禁止”的角度來探討技術的使用,而是從提高兒童對健康習慣的理解並幫助他們自己做出選擇的角度出發。 身為媒體導師的父母不是“監督”而是“導師”,他們有意義地參與了很好的問題,讓孩子有健康的選擇,並幫助他們理解實施限制對他們有利的原因。

例如,在娛樂屏幕時間玩在線遊戲:一種限制性態度可能表現為以下陳述:“該遊戲不行。 停止播放,否則我要帶走您的iPad。” 導師態度可能會出現在以下問題中:“您喜歡那個遊戲? 您認為描繪的暴力還可以嗎? 還有什麼其他類型的遊戲可能擁有您喜歡的東西,而沒有您認為不好的東西,例如那種暴力?”

適當地使用技術可以並且應該可以改善兒童的生活; 它可以而且應該允許孩子們玩耍,合作,學習和探索,而這種方式以前是不可能的。 玩耍是成長的重要方面,與媒體玩耍對孩子本質上並沒有壞處。 但是,在基於媒體的遊戲和身體遊戲之間取得積極的平衡很重要,確保媒體孩子在遊戲中的體驗是健康的,這是成為媒體導師的重要組成部分。

Media Mentoring

One of the best ways to understand a child’s relationship to technology and media is to meaningfully engage with that technology and media with that child. This cooperative relationship is called “media mentoring.”

Too often, adults model “do as I say, not as I do” behaviors with technology. We ask children to spend more time prosocially engaging with peers, but then bury our heads in our devices or regularly check those devices during times ideal for meaningful interpersonal interaction. Terms “distracted parenting” by some modern researchers, it is an easy pattern into which to fall, and a challenging one to break. However, collaboratively spending time together using the same high-quality media can help encourage prosocial interaction during the times media is in use, and then collaboratively spending time together without media can help model a positive and healthy “with-and-without” balance.

Parents can empower themselves to be good media mentors by having a Family Media Plan in place, and by understanding what constitutes Quality Content.

Good media mentors do not approach the use of technology from a perspective of “limitation” or “prohibition,” but from the perspective of improving children’s understanding of healthy habits and helping them to make good choices for themselves. Parents who are media mentors don’t “monitor,” but “mentor,” engaging meaningfully with good questions, allowing children healthy choice, and helping them to understand the reasons why restrictions that are put in place are good for them.

Take for example playing an online game during recreational screen time: A restrictive attitude may manifest as the statement, “That game is not okay. Stop playing it or I’m taking your iPad away.” A mentor attitude might manifest in the questions, “What about that game do you like? Do you think the violence depicted is okay? What other kind of games might have the things you like, without something you know to be bad, like that kind of violence?”

Technology can and should be an enhancement to a child’s life, used appropriately; it can and should allow children to play, to cooperate, to learn, and to explore in ways that would not otherwise be possible. Play is a critical aspect of growing up, and playing with media is not intrinsically bad for kids. However, striking a positive balance between media-based play and physical play is important, and ensuring that the media kids experience during play is healthy is an important part of being a media mentor.