軍人家庭

代表我們整個學校社區,歡迎您 Discovery 弗吉尼亞州著名的紫色之星小學。

海軍藍戒指中的紫色五角星,該戒指中的文字說:“弗吉尼亞傑出的紫色之星學校,用於支持軍事聯繫的學生。”

我們很榮幸能為您家的孩子服務。 此網頁提供的資源鏈接可能有助於輕鬆過渡到我們的社區。 作為美國大約 80,000 萬與軍隊有聯繫的兒童之一,您的學生將加入弗吉尼亞聯邦這裡現役軍人家庭的 XNUMX 名學齡兒童。 無論此 PCS 是讓阿靈頓成為您的新家,還是您已被部署並將您的孩子送到我們學校,我們都很自豪能夠幫助您在我們這裡度過盡可能有意義和充實的時光!

計劃到達 APS

如果您要離開的任務不在弗吉尼亞聯邦範圍內,我們建議您訪問 弗吉尼亞州教育部軍事家庭頁面,當您將家人搬到舊自治領區時,它會提供有關權利和資源的信息。

確定哪個 APS 您的學生所在的學校將根據家庭住址放置,您可以使用 APS 邊界(出勤區)定位器.

阿靈頓公立學校的註冊流程在 APS “註冊孩子”網頁。 我們認真履行《州際契約》第IV條(在下面如此命名的部分中進行了討論)所承擔的責任,以確保您的學生獲得適當的成績。

阿靈頓公立學校關於居住證明的要求在以下詳細說明 APS “居住”頁面.

阿靈頓公立學校的轉學程序以及學校轉學資源可在 APS “轉移選項”網頁.

特定學校信息 Discovery 可在 Discovery “年度材料開始”頁面.

您可能還希望與軍事機構的學校聯絡官聯繫,以尋求個人和特定地點的幫助。 可在線獲取VDOE當前(截至2018-2019年)學校聯絡官的列表.

旅遊 Discovery

請不要猶豫安排遊覽 Discovery 小學! 我們很高興向您和/或您的學生展示周圍的事物,並幫助您使學校適應新環境,並使您熟悉探險家。 此頁面底部提供了我們學校聯絡點的聯繫信息。

您可以 虛擬參觀建築物 進一步了解我們的學習環境。

通訊

每個年級都會每週發布一次學習日誌。 您可以使用本網站的“教室”菜單找到學生的年級團隊。 選擇成績等級後,找到“學習日誌”鏈接,您可以將其添加為書籤。 它每週更新一次。

如果你這麼願意,你可以 選擇接收來自阿靈頓公立學校的短信警報.

當您與處長交流時 Discovery,請確保您的電子郵件地址包含在我們的學生信息系統中。 這將確保您通過SchoolMessenger系統收到阿靈頓公立學校發送的消息。

Discovery 擁有強大的Twitter文化,我們經常分享有關學校社區和活動的信息。 考慮加入我們 跟隨@DiscoveryAPS,以及 @APS弗吉尼亞州。 一定要向學生的老師詢問Twitter上的班級帳戶,因為許多老師在 Discovery 有自己的。

準備從 APS

你可以聯繫 Discovery 直接為那些在過去五(5)年內已入學的學生提供記錄的基礎。 為此,請與註冊服務商Sandra Amores女士(sandra.amores @aps價值)。 根據《州際契約》第IV條(在下面的部分中進行了討論),我們將為您提供非官方記錄的副本(數字或打印),以方便您使用。

有關請求記錄和/或成績單的其他信息,請訪問 APS “成績單和記錄信息”網頁.

學術規劃

Discovery 小學是一所社區學校,我們的註冊是根據居住人數而定,因此沒有特殊的申請截止日期。

由於我們是一所小學,因此我們沒有畢業要求或文憑標準,因此任何一項都不涉及任何特殊的文書工作。

我們學校是響應式課堂學校。 響應式課堂是我們的社會情感學習計劃,也是學校文化的基礎,圍繞我們如何尊重和同情地理解孩子。 要了解有關響應式課堂的更多信息,請訪問 關於自適應教室網頁.

我們學校是一所基於標準的學校。 這可能與您上一所小學不同。 要了解更多信息,請訪問我們的 基於標準的教學 及 基於標準的評估 頁面。 您的學生將每季度收到一次 基於標準的進度報告 看起來可能與傳統的“成績單”不同。 該網頁將幫助解釋此詳細信息的含義。 如果您從阿靈頓轉出,這些報告將可供您使用(如上文“準備搬家……”中所述)以提供給您的下一所學校。 全國各地的學校領導都準備接受此類報告,我們認真對待《州際契約》所承擔的責任。 如果您的下一所學校對這些報告有任何疑問,請立即聯繫本頁底部列出的學校聯絡點。

州際契約

弗吉尼亞州參加了關於軍事兒童教育機會的州際契約。

國防部為軍人家庭提供了工具包,這些工具包解釋了《契約》中涉及的權利和資源。 國防部州際契約網頁.

州際軍事兒童契約委員會(MIC3)為軍人家庭提供信息,這些信息可能有助於在從一項任務過渡到另一項任務的過渡中,以及有關教育權利和資源的資源。 訪問MIC3網站(www.mic3.net) or 下載MIC3的副本“軍人家庭的學校過渡指南”。

特殊需要和父母權利

根據州際契約第V條,如果您的學生有此計劃,我們將很高興為任何當前的個性化教育計劃(IEP)或第504節計劃提供可比的服務。 鑑於存在的資源和計劃,我們可能會進行其他評估,以確保我們能夠做到這一點 APS.

弗吉尼亞教育部出版了《特殊教育學生軍人家庭指南》,該書是 可從VDOE網站免費下載.

如果您有特定問題,請聯繫當地特殊教育機構(LEA)的代表,網址為: Discovery,我們的助理校長Judith Seeber博士(judy.seeber @aps價值).

社區信息

歡迎並鼓勵您加入 Discovery 小學家長教師協會。 要了解更多有關 Discovery PTA, 訪問 discoverypta.org.

也歡迎並鼓勵您訪問弗吉尼亞州阿靈頓政府提供的“新阿靈頓居民歡迎包”。 歡迎套件是 可從https://topics.arlingtonva.us/welcome-kit在線獲得.

您可能還會發現 藍星家庭網站 對於與我們地區的資源和其他家庭聯繫非常有用。

我們也很自豪地通知您,作為美國軍人家庭, Discovery 小學因其紀念美國國旗的計劃而於2018年獲得了美國革命之子證書,該課程每天早晨根據當天的旗幟命令與美國弗吉尼亞州旗一同升起。 每年,我們的工作人員安全巡邏隊負責人和當地軍人家庭成員都對學生進行了正確地紀念我們的旗幟的培訓。 如果您有興趣參加此活動,請聯繫本頁底部列出的學校聯絡點。

售後服務信息

我們知道,如此多的軍人家庭在服完役後仍然希望在他們的社區中服務並發揮作用。 Discovery 有各種各樣的志願者機會,我們歡迎您的聯繫。 我們很樂意幫助您確定我們學校社區中可以滿足您個人需求的角色。 另外,別忘了檢查 職業@APS 頁面 如果您要退出現役服務,則可能需要一些機會。

联系信息

州聯絡點: 丹尼爾·鄧納姆
軍事學生和家庭專家(Dan.Dunham@doe.virginia.gov)
中央辦公室聯絡點: 勞拉·牛頓
學生服務總監(laura.newton @aps價值)
學校聯絡點: 2022-2023年待定

弗吉尼亞和華盛頓特區的軍事基地

附加鏈接


紫星計劃在 Discovery和此網頁由 Keith David Reeves 博士設計。

這些網頁可能包含指向阿靈頓公立學校網絡之外的網站的鏈接。 APS 不控制這些外部站點的內容或相關性。

Military Families

On behalf of our entire school community, welcome to Discovery Elementary School. We are honored to serve the children of your family. This webpage provides links to resources that may prove useful in making the transition into our community easy. As one of the 1.7 million military-connected children in America, your student will join the 70,000 school-age children of active-duty military families here in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Whether this PCS makes Arlington your new home post or if you’re deployed and sending your kids to our school, we are proud to help make your time with us as rewarding and enriching as possible!

Planning your Arrival to APS

If the assignment from which you are departing was outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, we encourage you to visit the Virginia Department of Education Military Families page, which provides information on rights and resources as you move your family here to the Old Dominion.

To determine which APS school at your student will be placed, based on home address, you can use the APS Boundary (Attendance Area) Locator.

The Arlington Public Schools registration process is detailed on the APS “Registering Your Child” webpage. We take seriously our responsibilities under Article IV of the Interstate Compact – discussed in the section so named below – to ensure that your student is placed in the appropriate grade.

The Arlington Public Schools requirements around proof of residency is detailed on the APS “Residency” webpage.

The Arlington Public Schools transfer process, along with school transfer resources, are available on the APS “Transfer Options” webpage.

School-specific information for coming to Discovery is available on the Discovery “Beginning of Year Materials” webpage.

You may also wish to contact your military installation’s School Liaison Officer for personal and site-specific assistance. A list from the VDOE of current (as of 2018-2019) School Liaison Officers is available online.

Touring Discovery

Please don’t hesitate to schedule a tour of Discovery Elementary School! It would be our pleasure to show you and/or your student around, and help acclimate you to the school and familiarize you with the Explorers family. Contact information for our School Point of Contact is available at the bottom of this page.

You can also learn more about the interior of the school by visiting the Scavenger Hunt Tour page.

Communications

Each grade level publishes a Learning Log weekly. You can find your student’s grade level team using the “Classrooms” menu of this website. Once you select the grade level, find the “Learning Log” link, which you can bookmark. It is updated weekly.

If you are so inclined, you can opt-in for text message alerts from Arlington Public Schools.

When you speak to the Registrar at Discovery, be sure to ask that your email address(es) be included in our Student Information System. This will ensure you receive messages sent by Arlington Public Schools through the SchoolMessenger system.

Discovery has a robust Twitter culture where we frequently share information about our school community and activities. Consider joining us by following @DiscoveryAPS, as well as @APSVirginia. Be sure to ask your student’s teacher about a class Twitter account, as many teachers at Discovery have their own.

Preparing your Move from APS

You can contact Discovery Elementary directly for records for students who have been enrolled within the past five (5) years. To do so, please contact the Registrar, Ms. Sandra Amores (sandra.amores@apsva.us). Under Article IV of the Interstate Compact – discussed in the section so named below – we will gladly provide you with copies (digital or printed) of unofficial records for your convenience.

For additional information about requesting records and/or transcripts, please visit the APS “Transcripts and Records Information” webpage.

Academic Planning

Discovery Elementary School is a neighborhood school, and our enrollment is based on residency, so there are no special deadlines for application.

We do not have graduation requirements or diploma standards, as we are an elementary school, so no special paperwork is involved regarding either item.

Our school is a Responsive Classroom school. Responsive Classroom is our social-emotional learning program, and the foundation of our school’s culture around how we respectfully and empathetically understand children. To learn more about Responsive Classroom, visit the About Responsive Classroom webpage.

Our school is a Standards-Based school. This may differ from your last elementary school. To learn more, please visit our Standards-Based Instruction and Standards-Based Assessment pages. Your student will receive a quarterly Standards-Based Progress Report which may look different from traditional “report cards.” The webpage will help explain what this detailed information means. If you transfer out of Arlington, these reports will be available to you (as described above in “Preparing your Move…”) to provide to your next school. School leaders around the country are prepared to receive these type of reports, and we take our responsibilities under the Interstate Compact seriously. Should your next school have any questions regarding these reports, don’t hesitate to contact the School Point of Contact listed at the bottom of this page.

Interstate Compact

Virginia participates in the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunities for Military Children.

The Department of Defense provides toolkits for military families that explain the rights and resources involved in the Compact on the DoD Interstate Compact webpage.

The Military Interstate Children’s Compact Commission (MIC3) provides information to military families that may prove useful in navigating transitions from one assignment to another, as well as resources around educational rights and resources. Visit the MIC3 website (www.mic3.net) or download a copy of the MIC3 “A Military Family’s Guide to School Transitions.”

Special Needs & Parental Rights

Under Article V of the Interstate Compact, we will gladly provide comparable services for any current Individualized Educational Program (IEP) or Section 504 plan, should your student have one. We may conduct additional evaluations to make sure that we are able to do that, given the resources and programs that exist in APS.

The Virginia Department of Education publishes “Guidance for Military Families With Students In Special Education,” which is available for free download.

If you have specific questions, please contact the Local Educational Agency (LEA) representative for Special Education at Discovery, our Assistant Principal, Dr. Judith Seeber (judy.seeber@apsva.us).

Community Information

You are welcome and encouraged to join the Discovery Elementary School Parent-Teacher Association. To learn more about the Discovery PTA, visit discoverypta.org.

You are also welcome and encouraged to visit the “Welcome Kit for New Arlington Residents,” provided by the Arlington, Virginia government. The welcome kit is available online at https://topics.arlingtonva.us/welcome-kit.

You may also find the Blue Star Families website useful for connecting with resources and other families in our area.

We are also proud to let you know, as an American military family, that Discovery Elementary School received the Sons of the American Revolution Flag Certificate in 2018 for its program honoring the American Flag, which is raised along with the Virginia Flag, each morning, in accordance with the flag orders of the day. Students each year are trained in properly honoring our flag by our staff Safety Patrol Leader and local military family members. If you are interested in participating in this activity, please contact the School Point of Contact listed at the bottom of this page.

Post-Service Information

We know that so many military families after they have completed their service continue to want to serve and play a role in their communities. Discovery has a wide variety of volunteer opportunities, and we welcome your contact. We will gladly help you identify roles in our school community that can help meet your personal needs. Also, don’t forget to check the Careers@APS page for opportunities that may be of interest, if you are transitioning out of active service.

Contact Information

State Point of Contact: Daniel L. Dunham
Military Student and Family Specialist (Dan.Dunham@doe.virginia.gov)
Central Office Point of Contact: Laura Newton
Director of Student Services (laura.newton@apsva.us)
School Point of Contact: Keith D. Reeves
Technology Coach (keith.reeves@apsva.us)

Military Bases in Virginia & Washington, D.C.

Additional Links


These webpages may contain links to websites that are outside of the Arlington Public Schools network. APS does not control the content or relevancy of these outside sites.