歷史重現 2022

的標誌 Discovery 探險家戴著三角帽,飄揚著一面旗幟,上面寫著“歷史栩栩如生! Discovery 初級”

13 月 415 日星期五——XNUMX 年 到今天 自從在北美海岸建立第一個英國殖民地以來!——四年級 Discovery 小學部將體驗和了解重要的弗吉尼亞歷史遺址詹姆斯敦、威廉斯堡和約克鎮,以及過去 400 年來塑造我們舊自治領的人和事件。 學生將參與一系列輪換,體驗巡迴演出、演講者、作家、重演者以及包括音樂、藝術、舞蹈和遊戲在內的真實時期活動,這些活動代表了自 1607 年以來弗吉尼亞人的多樣化經歷。

學生應在 13 月 XNUMX 日穿上以太陽係為主題的年級 T 卹。午餐時,學生可以自帶或提供棕色袋子午餐。

這個社區建設教育日將活躍和豐富參與其中的每個人。 如果你對志願服務感興趣, 請點擊這裡註冊. (請注意 APS的志願者要求.)

活動時間表
9:15 AM - 10:00 AM 詹姆斯敦基金會虛擬之旅(所有學生)
10:05 AM - 10:15 AM 小吃
10:15 AM - 11:00 AM 旋轉 1
11:05 AM - 12:05 PM 旋轉 2
12:05 PM-12 PM:30 PM 午餐
12:30 - 1:30 PM 旋轉 3
1:30 PM-2 PM:30 PM 紅鷹酋長和 Cheroenhaka Nottoway 部落(所有學生)
2:30 PM-3 PM:30 PM 旋轉 4

我們的客人

紅鷹酋長沃爾特·大衛·“紅鷹”·布朗酋長三世 是弗吉尼亞州南安普敦縣切羅恩哈卡諾托威印第安部落的當選酋長和切羅恩哈卡(諾托威)印第安部落傳統基金會主席。紅鷹酋長是弗吉尼亞州南安普敦縣人,在他家的農場長大,經歷了切羅恩哈卡(諾托威)印第安人古老的“傳統”和文化“通過耕作、養豬、捕魚、狩獵、誘捕和處理生皮與他的父親一起出售。 在此處了解有關首席紅鷹的更多信息.

約瑟夫格林Discovery 駐地詩人 約瑟夫格林 將建立內戰時代的歷史人物和人物的背景知識。 作為一名口語藝術家、教育家、勵志演說家——以及在青年領域工作了十多年——先生。 格林親眼目睹了學生的轉變。 他對自己的交叉點的接受和檢查,加上他在戲劇和口語表演方面的技巧,以及 10 多年在青年和成年人之間創造代際對話的經驗,為他在教室、會議室和客廳中的成功做出了貢獻。 了解更多關於格林先生的工作 JosephGreenSpeaks.com.

梅蘭妮拉力梅蘭妮拉力 擁有法語語言、文明和教育本科學位和課程設計碩士學位。 她向學生介紹有關法國和美國殖民生活的課程。 通過廣泛研究她的家庭血統,她發現了對歷史、法語和音樂的熱愛。 當她不為學校團體重演,教授縫紉和社交舞蹈的簡單技巧時,她是華盛頓特區的專業導遊,與各個年齡段的遊客一起工作。 她喜歡一個好故事,分享她對音樂的熱愛,鼓勵其他人學習歷史並儘可能多地學習。

約翰麥克奈爾和其他重演者約翰麥克奈爾 (最右圖)擁有瑪麗華盛頓大學的歷史文學學士學位和喬治梅森大學的應用歷史文學碩士學位。 他的公共歷史職業生涯始於弗雷德里克斯堡和 Spotsylvania 國家軍事公園的國家公園管理局實習生,此後一直擔任費爾法克斯縣公園管理局和阿靈頓縣公園和娛樂部的認證解說指南。 他目前是阿靈頓縣 CF 史密斯堡公園的公園歷史學家,負責阿靈頓縣公園系統內各個歷史遺蹟的教育計劃。

伯利大廈的科妮莉亞米勒盧瑟福科妮莉亞米勒盧瑟福 在弗吉尼亞文藝復興馬戲團 (VaRF) 中扮演米爾德麗德·塞西爾女士,她於 2001 年創立的一項活動。盧瑟福女士畢業於俄亥俄州立大學,並獲得喬治華盛頓大學法醫學(醫學)碩士學位。 在醫療技術、病理學和醫療保健信息系統領域長期工作後,她退休並致力於弗吉尼亞文藝復興馬戲團、鳳凰城活動聯盟和威廉王子歷史保護基金會。 她頻繁的英國之旅充滿了對都鐸時代生活中鮮為人知的方面的研究。 她與丈夫比爾住在弗吉尼亞州伍德布里奇,喜歡與兩個孩子和五個孫子共度時光。

約翰·托伊內戰重演者 約翰·托伊 (最左圖)已成為內戰重演者 23 年。 他是第 28 馬薩諸塞州 B 公司內戰重演部隊的聯合重演者,是聯合軍愛爾蘭旅的成員。 重建的28世紀的成員代表了聯邦軍的普通士兵,也呈現了19世紀中葉的移民經歷。 約翰是一名註冊會計師,也是阿靈頓的長期居民。 約翰擔任阿靈頓歷史學會的財務主管。

History Comes Alive 2022

A logo of the Discovery Explorer wearing a tricorn hat and flying a flag, with the words "History Comes Alive! at Discovery Elementary"

On Friday, May 13—415 years to the day since the founding of the first English colony on the shores of North America!—the Fourth Grade at Discovery Elementary will be experiencing and learning about the important Virginian historic sites Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown, and the people and events that have shaped our Old Dominion over the past 400 years. Students will engage in a series of rotations to experience tours, speakers, writers, reenactors, and period-authentic activities including music, art, dance, and games, that represent the diverse experiences of Virginians since 1607.

Students should wear their Solar System-themed Grade Level T-shirts on May 13. For lunch, students may bring their own or a brown bag lunch will be provided.

This community-building educational day will enliven and enrich everyone involved. If you are interested in volunteering, please click here to sign up. (Please note APS’s volunteer requirements.)

Schedule of Events
9:15 AM – 10:00 AM Jamestown Foundation Virtual Tour (All Students)
10:05 AM – 10:15 AM Snack
10:15 AM – 11:00 AM Rotation 1
11:05 AM – 12:05 PM Rotation 2
12:05 PM – 12:30 PM Lunch
12:30 – 1:30 PM Rotation 3
1:30 PM – 2:30 PM Chief Red Hawk and the Cheroenhaka Nottoway Tribe (All Students)
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM Rotation 4

Our Guests

Chief Red HawkChief Walter David “Red Hawk” Brown, III is the elected Chief of the Cheroenhaka Nottoway Indian Tribe of Southampton County VA and the Chairman of the Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indian Tribal Heritage Foundation, Inc. Chief Red Hawk is a native of Southampton County, Virginia and grew up on his family’s farm experiencing the age old “Traditions” and Culture” of the Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indians by farming, raising hogs, fishing, hunting, trapping and curing hides to sell with his father. Learn more about Chief Red Hawk here.

Joseph GreenDiscovery poet in residence Joseph Green will build background knowledge on historical characters and figures from the Civil War era. As a spoken word artist, educator, motivational speaker—and over a decade of work in youth spaces—Mr. Green has seen student transformations firsthand. His acceptance and examination of his intersections combined with both his craft in theater and spoken word performing, as well as more than 10 years of creating an intergenerational dialogue between youths and adults, has contributed to his success in classrooms, boardrooms, and living rooms. Learn more about Mr. Green’s work at JosephGreenSpeaks.com.

Melanie La ForceMelanie La Force has an undergraduate degree in French Language, Civilization, and Education and a Master’s Degree in Curriculum Design. She presents programs on French and American colonial life to students. Extensively researching her family ancestry, she discovered a love of history, French language, and music. When she is not reenacting for school groups, teaching the simple techniques of sewing and social dancing, she is a professional tour guide in Washington, DC and works with visitors of all ages. She loves a good story, sharing her love for music, encouraging others to study history and learn as much as one can.

John McNair and fellow reenactorsJohn McNair (pictured on the far right) holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in History from the University of Mary Washington, and a Master of Arts degree in Applied History from George Mason University. He began his career in public history as an intern for the National Park Service at the Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania National Military Park and has since worked as a Certified Interpretive Guide for the Fairfax County Park Authority and the Arlington County Department of Parks and Recreation. He is currently the Park Historian at Arlington County’s Fort C. F. Smith Park and is responsible for educational programing across various historic sites within the Arlington County Parks system.

Cornelia Miller Rutherford at Burleigh HouseCornelia Miller Rutherford plays Lady Mildred Cecil, Baroness Burghley at the Virginia Renaissance Faire, (VaRF) an event she founded in 2001. Ms. Rutherford is a graduate of the Ohio State University and received a Masters in Forensic Sciences (Medicine) from George Washington University. After a long career in Medical Technology and Pathology and Health Care Information Systems, she retired and has devoted her time to the Virginia Renaissance Faire, the Phoenix Event Alliance, and the Prince William Historic Preservation Foundation. Her frequent trips to the UK are filled with research into the lesser known aspects of life during the Tudor decades. She lives in Woodbridge, Virginia with her husband Bill and enjoys spending time with her two children and five grandchildren.

John TuohyCivil war reenactor John Tuohy (pictured far left) has been a Civil War reenactor for 23 years. He is a Union reenactor with the 28th Massachusetts Company B Civil War reenactment unit, a member of the Irish Brigade in the Union Army. Members of the recreated 28th represent ordinary soldiers of the Union Army and also present the immigrant experience of the mid-19th Century. John is a Certified Public Accountant and long-time resident of Arlington. John serves as Treasurer of the Arlington Historical Society.