屏幕時間

“屏幕時間”是一個經常被誤解和誤用的短語。 重要的是要理解我們在說“屏幕時間”時所指的含義,如果我們完全使用該短語,並利用當前事實賦予自己力量。

2016年XNUMX月,美國兒科學會修訂了其指南,以廢除關於任何年齡段的兒童應使用數字設備的時長的嚴格規定。 以前的指南並沒有控制重要的變量,因此過於嚴格。 文獻的當前狀態有助於我們更好地了解造成或可能造成傷害的原因,而不是造成傷害的原因。

2020年的新聞報導研究人員得出的結論是,在冠狀病毒大流行期間,最好的信息是最好的:父母應該少擔心時鐘時間,而應將注意力轉移到通過數字設備檢查孩子所體驗內容的性質和質量上。

A 2018綜合文獻分析 彼得森護理研究討論會的研究發現,限制屏幕時間的最重要因素是父母的選擇,父母對自己的技術使用,文化規範以及孩子的自我效能感。

At Discovery 小學,在學習任務的背景下,教師指導的課堂上使用數字教育技術不是娛樂性的,並且大多數圍繞屏幕時間的研究都未能說明內容。 關於“屏幕時間”最常見的誤解是,無論內容如何,長時間使用數字屏幕本身對所有兒童都是有害的。 關於該主題的大量研究文獻並未證實這一點。

還有另一個對“藍光”的誤解。 錯誤的說法是,所有的藍色光譜光都對人們“有害”。 事實並非如此。 閱讀例如 哈佛醫學院發表的信息,您會發現藍光的問題在於它會引起神經生物學的清醒,並且會延遲,打斷並減少睡眠時間,這對人類健康至關重要。 Consequently,所以, Discovery advises everyone to discontinue the use of screens and lights that emit wakefulness-inducing spectra at least 60 minutes prior to the time deep sleep should be underway.建議每個人在應進行深度睡眠之前至少XNUMX分鐘,停止使用會發出喚醒覺頻譜的屏幕和燈光。 However, the idea that blue-spectrum light (the same spectrum that is emitted by the sun) is intrinsically and universally harmful to humans is not correct.但是,藍光譜光(與太陽發射的光譜相同)對人類本質上和普遍有害的想法是不正確的。

但是,圍繞兒童使用所有成年人都應該理解的技術存在著科學上支持的重要問題。

睡覺

這些問題中最關鍵的問題之一就是睡眠。 一種 2015年睡眠醫學文獻綜述 發現在90年至1999年間進行的2014%的研究中,篩查時間與睡眠結局有不良關聯,包括入睡延遲和較短的睡眠時間。 然而,重要的是要注意,在當前的科學文獻中,發現的警告包括:1.相關性不是因果關係; 2.難以準確測量變量;以及3.對內容缺乏一致的控制。 就是說,教育技術人員普遍認為,在睡眠前一小時與數字設備屏幕互動會降低對健康發展至關重要的睡眠質量和數量。

根據本 美國睡眠醫學會 (AASM),總睡眠量(包括aps)兒童在給定的24小時內應具有以下條件:

  • 4-12個月的年齡:12-16小時(包括aps)
  • 1-2歲:11-14小時(包括aps)
  • 3-5歲:10-13小時(包括aps)
  • 6-12歲:9-12小時
  • 13-18歲:8-10小時

這些數字在2016年夏季得到美國兒科學會(AAP)的認可。根據AASM:“定期睡眠少於建議的小時數與註意力,行為和學習問題有關” 。 “睡眠不足還會增加發生事故,受傷,高血壓,肥胖,糖尿病和抑鬱症的風險。” 該組織說,同樣,過多的睡眠也與肥胖,糖尿病和心理健康問題有關。

根據2014年對研究文獻的評論,帶有點亮屏幕的電子設備可以破壞和抑制睡眠,該研究發現,在90%的青少年睡眠研究中,就寢前使用設備與健康睡眠方式的破壞直接相關。 。 這是由於認知刺激以及照明,從而提高了警覺性。 (光會抑制大腦中的褪黑激素水平,而褪黑激素是使我們感到困倦的激素。)此外, 設備越互動美國國立衛生研究院(National Institutes of Health)72年的數據顯示,這種睡眠對睡眠的破壞性更大,延遲並因此減少了整體睡眠,在2011%的青少年中普遍存在。

底線:睡前,娛樂性或其他方式使用數字設備會破壞健康的睡眠,這對健康的發展至關重要。

解決方案:孩子們不應在睡覺前一個小時開始使用數字設備,也不要在臥室裡使用數字設備。 家長可以通過從自己的房間移開屏幕和設備來模擬這種行為。

行使

由美國醫學會雜誌(JAMA)進行的國家健康與營養檢查調查(NHANES)發現,兒童肥胖和久坐活動增加,而劇烈運動量減少,這與數字媒體的使用增加有關,例如在電視上以及通過個人電子設備。 的 全國青少年健身調查NHANES的一部分,也發現劇烈的體育活動減少了。

根據有關2016年兒童健康的文獻資料,美國心臟協會(AHA)建議兒童和青少年每天60分鐘進行“中度至劇烈的有氧運動”。

《人類動力學雜誌》在 2018 年 XNUMX 月發現,過多的屏幕時間和減少的體力活動之間可能存在正相關,而減少的體力活動會對兒童的健康產生不利影響。 同樣,理解科學很重要:這並不意味著屏幕時間  減少體育鍛煉和健身; 這意味著那裡 可能是一種關係 兩者之間。 對於教育技術人員來說,這是顯而易見的:如果我們在任何一天頻繁使用我們的設備,則我們可能不如我們所期望的那麼活躍,因此我們需要做出健康的決定來解決這一問題。 這是我們需要考慮周到並圍繞我們的技術選擇採取響應措施的原因之一。

底線:在課餘時間,養成有力的有氧運動的健康遊戲和運動習慣對於健康發展至關重要。

解決方案:任何家庭媒體計劃都應包括每天60分鐘的非設備播放和/或鍛煉時間。 在創建您的 家庭媒體計劃,特別是在媒體時間計算器上。

溝通與娛樂

研究表明,針對兒童的最佳媒體形式是攝影而不是代表性。 簡而言之,與卡通或素描相比,真實人物和事物的圖片和視頻更有利於大腦健康發展,因為孩子們可以將他們在物理世界中看到的東西與他們在屏幕上看到的東西進行類比。 例如,許多家庭使用實時視頻會議技術(例如Facetime或Skype或Google Hangouts)將嬰兒與祖父母聯繫起來。 沒有令人信服的證據表明這種做法有任何不利之處。

兒童面對面和眼對眼的接觸越多,他們的發育就越好。 當然,沒有什麼可以替代照顧孩子的成年人的愛心,養育,安全,適當的觸感了,即使是年幼的孩子,也有機會與其他愛心,真實的面孔和聲音互動,這完全適合。

自我發展和探索活動(例如在鏡子中玩遊戲)是發育中的嬰兒和幼兒的常見現象,因此將數字設備的相機置於“自拍照”模式並讓幼兒鏡子表情並看到自己是該技術的另一種適當用法。

儘管這些活動可能確實都是“有趣的”,但與簡單的娛樂活動相比,發展溝通技巧和積極的親社會關係是大腦發展的另一個領域。

禁止2歲以下兒童完全使用數字技術可能會剝奪兒童進一步與生活中有意義的面孔和聲音互動的機會。

同樣,查看每個孩子的狀況始終至關重要。 基於孤立的案例研究制定過於籠統的政策是不合適的。 (這是“軼事”版本的邏輯謬論。)確實,有些孩子可能表現出類似ADHD的行為 可能與過度使用數字媒體有關,但並非所有可能表現出這些行為的孩子都是因為這種媒介使用而這樣做的,也不是說媒介的使用總是導致這些行為的發生。 我們必須始終注意不要混淆關聯和因果關係。

底線: 以適當的方式與他人溝通,尤其是激發和加強愛心,以及親朋好友之間的適當關係,是對數字技術的有效利用,並具有潛在的好處。

解決方案: 跟踪媒體使用情況時,請勿將與祖母進行的視頻聊天計入娛樂時間。

了解更多信息

有關“屏幕時間”的其他資源,請訪問 CommonSenseMedia.org.


Gradisar M; Wolfson AR; 哈維公司; 黑爾L; 羅森伯格R; 蔡司勒美國人的睡眠和技術使用:國家睡眠基金會(National Sleep Foundation)2011年的“美國睡眠調查”中的發現。 臨床睡眠醫學 2013;9(12):1291-1299.

Kan,P.,Simonson,SE,Lyon,JL,和Kestle,JR(2008)。 手機的使用和腦腫瘤:一項薈萃分析。 [抽象]。 神經腫瘤學雜誌, 86(1),71-78。

Paruthi S,Brooks LJ,D'Ambrosio C,WA大廳,Kotagal S,Lloyd RM,Malow BA,Maski K,Nichols C,Quan SF,Rosen CL,Troester MM,Wise MS。 兒科人群的建議睡眠量:美國睡眠醫學學會的共識聲明。 臨床睡眠醫學 2016;12(6):785–786.

Screen Time

“Screen time” is an often misunderstood and misused phrase. It is important to understand to what we refer when we say “screen time,” if we use the phrase at all, and empower ourselves with current facts.

In October of 2016, the American Academy of Pediatrics revised its guidelines to drop a hard-and-fast rule about length of time children of any age should be using a digital device. Previous guidelines did not control for important variables, and were therefore overly restrictive. The current state of the literature helps us better understand what does or may cause harm, and what does not.

A 2018 integrative literature analysis by the Peterson Nursing Research Colloquium found that the most important factors in limiting screen time are parenting choices, parent technology use for themselves, cultural norms, and the child’s self-efficacy.

At Discovery Elementary School, the teacher-guided, in-class utilization of digital educational technology within the context of a learning task is not recreational, and most studies around screen time fail to account for content. The most common myth about “screen time” is that prolonged use of digital screens regardless of content is, itself, detrimental to all children in all cases. This is not borne out by the body of research literature on the subject. There was a time when people were deeply concerned about low-level electromagnetic frequency (EMF) radiation from consumer electronics, for example; there is no evidence to support that this is so.

There is another deep misunderstanding of “blue light.” The incorrect myth is that all blue-spectrum light is “harmful” to people. This is not so. Read, for example, the information published by the Harvard School of Medicine, and you will find that the issue with blue-spectrum light is that it causes neurobiological wakefulness, and this can delay, interrupt, and lessen the duration of sleep, which is critically important for human health. Consequently, Discovery advises everyone to discontinue the use of screens and lights that emit wakefulness-inducing spectra at least 60 minutes prior to the time deep sleep should be underway. However, the idea that blue-spectrum light (the same spectrum that is emitted by the sun) is intrinsically and universally harmful to humans is not correct.

There are, however, scientifically-supported and important issues surrounding children’s use of technology that all adults should understand.

Sleep

One of the most critical of these issues is sleep. A 2015 review of the literature in Sleep Medicine Reviews found that in 90% of studies examined between 1999 and 2014, screen time was adversely associated with sleep outcomes including delays in getting to sleep and shorter sleep durations. It is important to note, however, in the current state of the scientific literature, the caveats found, including 1. correlation is not causation, 2. difficulties in accurately measuring variables, and 3. a lack of consistent controls about content. That said, it is generally accepted among educational technologists that engaging with a digital device screen in the hour prior to sleep can lessen the quality and quantity of sleep that is important for healthful development.

According to the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM), the total amount of sleep (including naps) children should have in a given 24 hour period is as follows:

  • Ages 4-12 months: 12-16 hours (including naps)
  • Ages 1-2 years: 11-14 hours (including naps)
  • Ages 3-5 years: 10-13 hours (including naps)
  • Age 6-12 years: 9-12 hours
  • Age 13-18 years: 8-10 hours

These figures were endorsed by the American Academy of Pediatricians (AAP) in the Summer of 2016. According to the AASM:“Regularly sleeping fewer than the number of recommended hours is associated with attention, behavior, and learning problems,” according to the statement. “Insufficient sleep also increases the risk of accidents, injuries, hypertension, obesity, diabetes and depression.” Likewise, too much sleep has been linked to obesity, diabetes and mental health problems, the group said.

Electronic devices with light-up screens can disrupt and inhibit sleep according to a 2014 review of the research literature, which found that in 90% of adolescent-age sleep studies, the use of devices prior to bedtime directly correlated to disruptions in healthful sleep patterns. This is due both to cognitive stimulation as well as illumination, which increases alertness. Additionally, the more interactive the device, the more disruptive to sleep the effect, delaying and therefore reducing overall sleep, found prevalent in 72% of adolescents according to the National Institutes of Health in 2011.

Bottom Line: Using digital devices before bed, recreationally or otherwise, disrupts healthy sleep, which is critical for healthy development.

Solution: Children should not use digital devices beginning an hour prior to sleep time, and should not have digital devices in bedrooms. Parents can model this behavior by removing screens and devices from their rooms.

Exercise

The National Health and Nutrition Examination Surveys (NHANES) conducted by the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) has found increases in childhood obesity and sedentary activities and decreases in vigorous physical activities, related to the increased use of digital media such as that found on television and through personal electronic devices. The National Youth Fitness Survey, part of the NHANES, has also found decreases in vigorous physical activities.

Based on the body of literature regarding health for children as of 2016, the American Heart Association (AHA) recommends 60 minutes daily of “moderate to vigorous-intensity aerobic activity” for children and teenagers.

The Human Kinetics Journal found in February 2018 that there may be a positive association between excessive screen time and lowered physical activity, and that lowered physical activity can have a detrimental impact on child fitness. Again, it is important to understand the science: This does not mean that screen time causes lower physical activity and lower fitness; it means that there might be a relationship between the two. This, to an educational technologist, is obvious: If we use our device a lot during any given day, we’ve probably not been as active as we should, and we need to make healthful decisions to account for that. This is one of the reasons we need to be thoughtful and to take responsive actions around our technology choices.

Bottom Line: Outside of the school day, developing healthy play and exercise habits that involve vigorous aerobics is important for healthy development.

Solution: Any family media plan should include 60 minutes a day of non-device play and/or exercise time. Include this when creating your Family Media Plan, specifically on the Media Time Calculator.

Communication versus Recreation

Research shows us that the best form of media for children is photographic instead of representative. In short, pictures and videos of real people and things is better for healthful brain development than cartoons or drawings, as children are able to analogize what they see in the physical world with the things they see on a screen. Many families use real-time video conferencing technologies, like Facetime or Skype or Google Hangouts, to connect babies to grandparents, for example. There is no compelling evidence that there is anything detrimental about this practice.

The more face-to-face and eye-to-eye contact children have, the better for their development. While there is of course no substitute for the loving, nurturing, safe, appropriate touch of the adults who care for children, providing an opportunity to interact with other loving, real faces and voices is entirely appropriate for even young children.

Self-stimulating and exploration activities like playing in a mirror are common observations among developing babies and toddlers, so placing a digital device’s camera on “selfie” mode and letting a young child mirror expressions and see themselves can be another appropriate use of this technology.

While these activities may indeed all be “fun,” developing communications skills and positive, prosocial interpersonal relationships is a different domain of brain development than simple entertainment.

Banning digital technology outright for children under the age of 2 could potentially deny children the opportunity to further engage with meaningful faces and voices in their lives.

Also, it is always essential to look at each individual child’s situation. It is not appropriate to make overgeneralized policies based on isolated case studies. (This is the “anecdotal” version logical fallacy.) It is true that some children who may exhibit ADHD-like behaviors may be doing so in relation to excessive digital media use, but it is not true that all children who may exhibit those behaviors are doing so because of that media use, nor is it true that said media use invariably leads to those behaviors. We must always take care not to conflate correlation and causation.

Bottom Line: Communicating with other people in appropriate ways, especially to foment and strengthen loving, appropriate relationships between friends and family, is a valid use of digital technology with potential benefits.

Solution: Don’t count video chats with Grandma against recreational screen time when keeping track of media use.

For More Information

For additional resources about “screen time,” visit CommonSenseMedia.org.


Gradisar M; Wolfson AR; Harvey AG; Hale L; Rosenberg R; Czeisler CA. The sleep and technology use of Americans: findings from the National Sleep Foundation’s 2011 Sleep in America Poll. Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine 2013;9(12):1291-1299.

Kan, P., Simonson, S. E., Lyon, J. L., & Kestle, J. R. (2008). Cellular phone use and brain tumor: a meta-analysis. [Abstract]. Journal of Neuro-Oncology, 86(1), 71-78.

Paruthi S, Brooks LJ, D’Ambrosio C, Hall WA, Kotagal S, Lloyd RM, Malow BA, Maski K, Nichols C, Quan SF, Rosen CL, Troester MM, Wise MS. Recommended amount of sleep for pediatric populations: a consensus statement of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine 2016;12(6):785–786.