實踐

雖然政策控制著美國的整體技術計劃 APS, Discovery Elementary School is unique, as is any school.小學和其他任何學校一樣,都是獨一無二的。 This page describes how technology is used at本頁介紹了技術的使用方式 Discovery。 (請注意,此信息與緊急在線學習情況(例如2020-2021年的大流行)無關。)

PK-2年級

PK至2年級的學生可以通過其老師使用iPad教室套件。 這些設備僅用於指導,並且僅在老師的直接監督下進行。

在2017年2019月進行的一項內部行動研究中,並於XNUMX年春季確認,早期學習的學生平均使用iPad進行教學。 一天總共14分鐘,在使用iPad的日子。 iPad平均使用 每週2.7天 在這個年齡段。 2年級的學生根據手邊的學習活動,在每天10分鐘(每週40次)到每天1分鐘(每週XNUMX次)之間使用設備。 K-XNUMX年級的學生很少使用這些設備。

在21世紀,至關重要的是,兒童必須有機會在適當的,有監督的教育條件下,使用將來會普遍使用的設備。 此外,學生可以從我們使用的少數幾個應用程序中體驗個性化的即時響應和反饋,這些應用程序是為教育價值,發展適當性和安全性而手動選擇的,其中包括一項針對市場營銷的“零容忍”政策。放在 Discovery.

它們不會發給學生,而是保存在教室中,供教師設計的與教育技術結合的課程使用,通常與教育技術管理員合作,後者會指導員工有效,有效地開展基於最佳和研究性實踐的培訓,這些設備在發展上適合於學習。 不允許學生僅在“玩耍”時使用這些設備。 它們在課堂上的使用是受限制的和有意的。 請訪問家長媒體學院,以了解有關此內容的更多信息.

等級3-5

阿靈頓公立學校每所學校的3年級學生將獲得 APS擁有的 APS發行的iPad。 俗稱“ 1:1程序”,發音為“一對一”。

在2016-17年XNUMX月和XNUMX月進行的一次內部動作研究學生中,這些設備平均用於 每天90分鐘 跨高年級。 這項研究在2019年被確認是一致的。例如,四年級的學生在大多數日子裡每天使用4至45分鐘之間的設備。 在一天中,並非每天的每一分鐘都使用它們,也不允許在政策期間使用它們:

  • 午餐,促進親密互動
  • 休息,促進自由運動
  • 延長日,除非得到老師和家人的特別許可,才能在有監督的環境中將設備用於學術目的(請參見下面的延長日)
  • 為了娛樂而閱讀,這必須使用一本物理書來完成,例如 最近的研究↗表示雖然許多學生更喜歡電子閱讀器,但許多學生在非論文文本上的理解能力在物理紙上略有提高

發行的iPad由購買,擁有,管理和維護, APS 信息服務部↗。

Practices

While policies govern the overall technology program in APS, Discovery Elementary School is unique, as is any school. This page describes how technology is used at Discovery.

Grades PK-2

Students in Grades PK through 2 have access to classroom sets of iPads through their teachers. These devices are exclusively used for instruction, and only with direct teacher supervision.

In an internal action research study conducted in April of 2017 and confirmed in the Spring of 2019, students in early grades use an iPad for instruction an average of 14 minutes total for the day, on days when the iPads are in use. iPads are used on average of 2.7 days per week across this age range. Students in Grade 2 use the devices in a range between 10 minutes per day three times a week to 40 minutes a day four times a week, depending on the learning activity at hand. Students in Grades K-1 use the devices far less.

It is essential in the 21st century that children have the opportunity to utilize devices that will be ubiquitous in their futures under appropriate, supervised, educational conditions. Additionally, students are able to experience individualized and immediate response and feedback from the few apps that we use, which have been hand-selected for educational value, developmental appropriateness, and safety, including a “zero-tolerance” policy for marketing that is in place at Discovery.

They are not issued to students, and are kept in the classroom, for use in educational technology-integrated lessons designed by the teacher, often in concert with the educational technology administrator, who coaches staff on best- and research-based practices in effective, developmentally-appropriate uses of these devices for learning. Students are not permitted to use these devices simply “to play around.” Their use in the classroom is circumscribed and intentional. Please visit the Parent Media Academy to learn more about this.

Grades 3-5

Students in Grade 3 at each school in the Arlington Public Schools are issued an APS-owned, APS-issued iPad. This is referred to colloquially as a “1:1 program,” pronounced “one-to-one.”

In an internal action research student conducted in January and February of 2016-17, on average, these devices are used for instruction an average of 90 minutes each day, across upper grade levels. This research was confirmed as consistent in 2019. Students in Grade 4, for example, use the devices between 45 and 90 minutes per day, most days. They are not used every minute of the day, nor are they allowed to be used, by policy, during:

  • Lunch, to promote prosocial interaction
  • Recess, to promote free physical play
  • Extended Day, unless specifically granted permission by the teacher and the family to use the device for an academic purpose in a supervised setting (Please see Extended Day below)
  • Reading for pleasure, which must be done using a physical book, as recent research↗ indicates that while many students prefer e-readers, many students’ comprehension performance in non-article text is slightly better on physical paper

These devices are learning tools to be used in the context of the APS Personalized Learning initiative↗. This is a county-level program not specific to Discovery. Please visit the APS Personalized Learning website↗ to learn more about this program.

The iPads issued are purchased, owned, managed, and maintained by the APS Department of Information Services↗.

For information regarding responsibilities for devices, including breakage, negligence, and intentional damage, as well as potential associated cost, please visit the Device Damage page on the APS website↗.