社交網絡

社交媒體的形式多種多樣,不同年齡段的人群對平台使用的偏好和使用方式也不同。 在與社交媒體平台打交道時,圍繞兒童發育,心理健康和安全性存在一些重大問題,這些問題可能很難解決。

該法

首先,在哪裡 Discovery 小學學生很關心,您可以使自己掌握 兒童在線隱私和保護法,或“ COPPA”,發音為[CO-pah]。 COPPA是一部涉及許多內容的聯邦法律,但其中最主要的是,允許13歲以下兒童使用其技術的公司必須獲得父母的許可。 因此,許多公司(例如Facebook)不允許13歲以下的兒童使用他們的服務,因為他們不能保證他們遵守COPPA。

社交媒體

適合年齡的社交媒體

儘管有一些由教育工作者策劃的社交媒體平台供學生使用,例如 埃德莫多 –通常,兒童在娛樂屏幕上會尋求社交互動而非學習內容。

如果您有興趣儘早開始養成良好的社交媒體習慣,則可以使用針對孩子的年齡受限的社交媒體平台,這對您和您的孩子來說是一個“入門級”機會。 常識媒體已經審查了幾個,包括 你的領域。 這些鏈接不是認可,而只是家庭可以考慮的資源示例。 使用任何社交媒體平台的任何孩子都有良好的生活習慣,這一點很重要 媒體指導.

通用規則

在任何社交媒體環境中,一些關鍵因素都應該成為對話的一部分。

隱私設置 至關重要。 通過設置社交媒體,使只有經過批准的已知個人才能看到內容並與用戶互動,用戶可以保護自己免受有害或未知個人的侵害。 但是,無論您的用戶名或身份如何,都必須堅持與您的孩子在所有社交媒體平台上是“朋友”或“聯繫”。 作為父母,您應該行使權利來監視和控制孩子的社交媒體活動。 雖然嚴格的“按我說的做,而不是按我做的”方向會使孩子感到沮喪(當孩子看到的模型與他們被要求做的事情不匹配時,他們可能會感到困惑),但通常不需要花太多時間解釋為什麼孩子在網上選擇方面與成年人有不同的規定,並且大多數孩子可以理解使他們免受傷害的願望。 此外,雖然我們確實希望孩子有隱私權,但是適合年齡的腳手架可以幫助他們養成良好的習慣並圍繞隱私權做出正確的選擇,可能需要以觀察,參與和夥伴關係為起點的漸進式方法,這不是懲罰性方法,但是幫助兒童擴大對如何安全的理解的建設性願望。

適當性 這是一個具有挑戰性的概念,尤其是在兒童成為青少年時。 古老的格言“您在網上發布的所有內容都永遠存在”在技術上可能並不總是正確的,但事實確實如此。 日益 Wayback Machine 實際上是真的。 只是一個例子:有些服務器從字面上爬網,以查找所有可能的內容並一直保存。 做出正確的判斷很重要。 考慮生成一個共同商定的標準列表,每個帖子都應滿足這些條件,並使其與技術保持緊密聯繫,即使在iPad上也是如此! –這樣,孩子們在“發布之前先思考”時就有參考點。

相互尊重 是必不可少的。 一個人不必在網上成為朋友,也不必成為真正的朋友,反之亦然。 通過在線聯繫,一個人將承擔更多的責任,而不是更少。 匿名對於某些人而言是一種強大的陶醉之物,使他們能夠突破社交適當性甚至友善的界限,因為他們覺得沒有後果,但是卻有一種思想,感覺到人與人之間的聯繫。 當其他人表現出卑鄙的性格或不適當的行為時,與該人斷開連接或阻止該人是立即的補救措施,但也應始終敞開大門與您討論他們的感受,以及哪些好的選擇可以避免在社交網絡中造成不愉快和有害的在線互動。未來。

Social Media

Social media comes in many forms, and different age groups have different preferences and use patterns for the platforms they use. There are some significant concerns surrounding child development, mental health, and safety when dealing with social media platforms that can be tricky to navigate.

The Law

Firstly, where Discovery Elementary School students are concerned, you can equip yourself with knowledge of the Children’s Online Privacy and Protection Act, or “COPPA,” pronounced [ CO-pah ]. COPPA is a Federal Law that says many things, but chief among them is that companies who allow children under the age of 13 to use their technologies must secure parental permission for that use. Consequently, many companies – like Facebook, for example – do not allow children under the age of 13 to use their services, as they do not guarantee that they comply with COPPA.

social-media

Age-Appropriate Social Media

While there are social media platforms curated by educators for use by students – such as Edmodo – generally children seek social interaction rather than academic content during their recreational screen time.

There are age-restricted child-specific social media platforms that may serve as an “entry level” opportunity for you and your children, if you are interested in beginning good social media habits early. Common Sense Media has reviewed several, including YourSphere. These links are not endorsements, but merely examples of resources that families can consider. It is important that any child using any social media platform has good Media Mentoring.

General Rules

In any social media context, a few key factors should be part of the conversation.

Privacy Settings are critical. By setting social media so that only approved, known individuals can see content and interact with the user, users can keep themselves safe from unwanted or unknown individuals. However, insist that you are “friends” or “connections” with your children on all of their social media platforms, no matter their user name or identity. As a parent, you should exercise your right to monitor and control the social media activities of your children, while they are children. While stringent “do as I say, not as I do” orientations can frustrate a child (when what children see modeled does not match what they’re being asked to do, they can become confused), generally it doesn’t take much to explain why kids have different rules than adults when it comes to online options, and most children can understand a desire to keep them safe from harm. Additionally, while we do want children to have privacy, age-appropriate scaffolding to help them develop good habits and make good choices around privacy may require an incremental approach that begins with observation, involvement, and partnership, which is not a punitive approach, but a constructive desire to help children expand their understanding of how to be safe.

Appropriateness is a challenging concept, especially as children become teenagers. The old adage “everything you post online is there forever” may not always be technically true, but it is increasingly The Wayback Machine actually true. is just one example: There are servers that literally crawl the internet to find everything they can, all the time, and save them. It’s important to exercise good judgment. Consider generating a mutually-agreed-upon list of criteria that every post should meet, and keep it near technology – even on the case of the iPad! – so that children have a point of reference when they “think before they post.”

Mutual Respect is essential. One doesn’t have to be friends online, to be friends for real, and the opposite is also true. By connecting online, a person assumes more responsibility, not less. Anonymity is a powerful intoxicant for some people, allowing them to push the boundaries of social appropriateness and even kindness because they feel there are no consequences, but there is a thinking, feeling person on the other end of the connection. When others exhibit mean-spirited or inappropriate behavior, disconnection from or blocking that person is an immediate remedy, but the door should always also be open to discuss with you how they feel and what good choices can lead to avoiding unpleasant and harmful online interactions in the future.